The Final Blog

Fri Mar 6th Franksten to Melbourne – 43 mls. Grand total 15649 mls. 
Another cold wet and windy start as I cycled along the coast rode into Melbourne. As I arrived in the city I cycled past Albert Park where the F1 Grand Prix is about to take place. I couldnt resist a quick detour into the park and along the start finish line. I was just about to complete a lap when I noticed my back wheel was buckled -another spoke had broken. I limped into the main centre of the city and found two bike shops neither of which could help. One of the shops gave me the number of a bike shop about 4mls away. I rang them and as luck would have it they had a new heavy duty wheel. I just had to nurse the bike there. When I arrived they got straight on the case and within an hour I was  on the road back into Melbourne.  I met my daughter at her offices and had a couple of beers with her work colleagues before cycling back to her apartment.
This now the end of Justpoppingoutforacycleride.  I would like to thank you for following my adventure.  I hope you found the blogs  and videos entertaining. I would also like to thank all of you who sent me congratulations messages and those who have made a donation to SOS Childrens Villages.  I know the contributions will be gratefully received by the charity.  I will be travelling back to the UK on March 19/20 and will see many of you then when I can thank you personally.  But for now its goodbye.’
Final video blog:-http://youtu.be/c0cBT92yPL0

Categories: Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “The Final Blog

  1. David Ison

    Congratulations, amazing achievement!!!!!

    Kind Regards

    David Ison

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Emma Kaye

    Well done Jeremy – what an achievement – I have been following your blog all the way – it seems it has rained more than having sun!! Relax now for a few days and look forward to seeing you back at the gym.

    Posh Emma x

    • Thanks Emma. The weather hasn’t been that bad. I am sure I will notice the difference when I arrive back home.

  3. sean.murphy

    Well Done terrific achievement! ! Sean

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  4. becca

    Well done YOU Jeremy have a rest for goodness sake you’ll be biking in your sleep. All the best and WELL DONE YOU what a great achievement – it must seem so long ago since you set out a year ago.

    Becca

  5. Jill Bell

    Well done Jeremy you made it and in 1 piece what a fantastic achievement. I have really enjoyed following your blog will look forward to seeing you at the gym.
    Jill Bell

  6. Andrew collier-mays

    What a amazing achievement well done xx
    Andy & Bev

  7. Congratulations Jeremy! It was great to meet you, let us know if you make it back our way in the future. Graham and Venus

    • Thanks Graham.It was good to meet you both. I have told many people about your town and the lovely countryside

  8. Marie

    Congratulations Jeremy, I have enjoyed your blog after meeting your wife in the RB gardens South Yarra. Bon voyage, you will be home in time for Spring, how I miss England in the Spring.

  9. Thanks Marie. Not sure I am looking forward to the cold spring of England

  10. Good onya mate have followed your antics since leaving PD – all the best for the future Cheers!

  11. Congratulations Jeremy! So nice to have met you in Bali last year, thank you for showing Fran and I the little street food market in Seminyak, the food was delicious. Hope you have a good journey back to England 🙂 Hannah

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.