Less tan 100 miles to go

Tues Mar 3rd – Bairnsdale to Taralgon – 87 mls. R/T 15498 mls. 93 mls to go.
Last night my nearest eatery was an Indian curry house within walking distance of my tent.  I hadnt had an Indian since leaving England and I fancied a nice chicken patia.
I walked in and had the pick of the tables. I chose one by the window so I could watch the world go by…well mainly large trucks. I looked at the menu.it reminded me of Indian restaurants in England back in the 80’s – meat madras; meat vindaloo, chicken tikka masala. I asked if they could rustle me up a chicken patia. The waitress looked at me blankly and then said they only had chicken tikka massala. I then asked if they had chicken jalfrezi. She pointed to the back of the menu  where there was a vegetable jalfrezi. Could they add chicken I enquired. She disappeared to the kitchen and came back. They could add chicken. I then asked for a peshwari naan. She nodded and said they didnt do peahwari naan. The menu had naan with cheddar cheese. This must be their equivalent of Welsh Rarebit.
After 20 mins it arrived. I have never had a jalfrezi with carrots and green beans but it was surprisingly tasty as was the cheesy naan.
Today was a long cycle along the main highway. I was going to stop at Rosedale but there wasn’t much there so carried on. Having reached Taralgon I now have less than 100 miles to reach Melbourne.  I have arranged with my daughter Cathryn to arrive on Friday evening at her office in the CBD district. That will signal the end of my trip.
No video blog – road was too boring
IMG_2115 IMG_2112 IMG_2122

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Less tan 100 miles to go

  1. Great going Jeremy – nearly there!!!

  2. Kate

    It will be a great achievement, well done.

  3. Lin

    Can’t believe you have nearly made it-look forward to seeing you when you get home.

  4. Sue Templemsn

    We’ll be cheering you on to the end of your ride – Will crack open the champagne when we hear you’ve reached your destination! Thanks for sharing your adventure & best wishes for future challenges! Hope to see you back in England after you’ve had time to recover.
    Sue & Paul

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.