A personal appeal on behalf of SOS Children’s Villages

As I come to the end of my cycle ride from Newport in Essex England to Melbourne Victoria Australia I would like to thank you for following my blogs (only 2 0r 3 more blogs) and to  make  a personal appeal to all those that have been following my adventure. I have cycled over 15,500 miles ( c 25,000kms+). In doing so I have visited 6 SOS Childrens Villages in 5 countries – Croatia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Laos x2 and Indonesia. When I started the trip I knew only what I had read on the SOS Childrens Village web site. I fully expected the quality and standard of care of the children would differ greatly in each country and in each village. In fact I was pleasantly surprised by the consistency of care in every village I visited. The houses were modern and well equipped.  The staff, especially the ‘mothers’ of each house, looked after the children with as much love and care as if they were their own. The children were taught respect and responsibility. Respect for themselves, the staff and the other children. And responsibility for themselves, the other children and their houses and village.  All the children had either lost their parents, been abandoned by either or both parents or  been in an abusive environment.  The children I met were happy, content and very polite to me and the staff. I saw no vandalism, graffiti or any unsocial behaviour. I believe the children in an SOS Childrens village grow up to be well rounded adults and I have been immensely impressed by the SOS Childrens Village charity and the work they do. I urge you to support them. I have done the hard job of cycling to Australia. All I ask of you is the easier task of putting your hand in your pocket and donating any amount however small. I know that it will be appreciated by the charity and especially the children. Please go to:-
Thank you.
Jeremy.
Donations can be made from anywhere in the world, in one of eight different currencies as long as you have a credit or debit card. Although for UK charities we currently only process donations in pounds sterling (£GBP), you can now give in one of eight different currencies: GBP, EUR, USD, CAD, HKD, SGD, AUD and AED. To do this, select your chosen currency from the drop down menu in ‘Step 1’ of the donation process. You can then choose the amount you’d like to donate. If you’re donating in a currency that’s not currently listed in our drop down menu, you’ll need to work out how much you want to donate in this currency. Here’s one of the many currency conversion websites that can help: www.xe.com/ucc Your bank or Credit Card Company may charge extra fees for international transactions

If you haven’t seen one of my videos of the SOS Cildren’s Villages here are the 6 links :-

SOS Lekenik Croatia – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gedVPJFFua8

SOS Tblisi Georgia – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bemGgGj3WSc

SOS Ganja Azerbaijan – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZSeeDrZk00

SOS Luang Prabang Laos – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-m5qvg8YxAc

SOS Vientiane Laos  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5B4ctk2ito

SOS Semerang Java Indonesia – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwIoh7MaLSc

 

SOS Childrens Village :-

Our Vision

Every child belongs to a family and grows with love, respect and security.

Our Mission

We build families for children in need, we help them shape their own futures, and we share in the development of their communities.

Our Values

CourageWe take action.  Commitment – We keep our promises.
TrustWe believe in each other.  AccountabilityWe are reliable partners.

https://www.justgiving.com/jpr59/

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A personal appeal on behalf of SOS Children’s Villages

  1. Thank you Jeremy for all your tireless pedalling to fundraise for the children in our care! We look forward to seeing you when you’re back in Blighty. Best wishes from all the team at SOS Children’s Villages UK.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.